Are you holding a senior position or maybe taking the very first step in your career? Either way, having a user profile assigned to you is a great tool. “User” is not just the user name and password that gives you access to a certain application, it also encapsulates your authorisations, licence type, preferences, etc.
This is why User Management is an important, yet sensitive process in every organisation. After a while, you will probably notice that the list of users gets longer, including active and inactive users. Setting users that are no longer active as “Locked” may decrease the risk of logging in and performing actions with the wrong user. Examples include employees who have left the business or temporary staff having a period of absence.
To have better visibility of the active users, especially when assignments are actioned, SAP Business One introduces the option to hide locked users in various windows:
In addition to the “Add-On Administration” and “Alert Details” windows as seen above, this option is also added to the “UI Configuration Template” window and the “Copy Form Settings” window that is available in “Users – Setup”.
Since creating new users is not an everyday task, the default behaviour of the “Users – Setup” window has changed, and instead of appearing in “Add” mode, it now opens in “Find” mode:
This may prevent adding new users by mistake and enables you to quickly find a user without having to switch to “Find” mode.
Available in Web Client for SAP Business One 10.0, and SAP Business One 10.0 version for SAP HANA. Please get in touch if you would like to upgrade to version 10.0.
We hope that you find this tip useful. For more information on Business One, please visit our webpage.
Source: Ari Schapira | SAP Business One – The Tip of the Week